Sugar Land DWI Lawyer – Cost, Penalties, Jail Time
Being arrested for driving under the influence in Texas is a serious and traumatic life-event. Need a Fort Bend DWI Lawyer?
Call (281) 720-8551 to speak to an attorney.
While a first offense DWI is a misdemeanor, it is much more serious than a typical traffic ticket. For people who have never been arrested, a first time Texas DWI can be very frightening.
This could be your first time dealing with the criminal justice system. You will need a strong, knowledgeable Sugar Land, Texas DWI attorney to help you deal with this problem.
15 Day Deadline
You Only Have 15 Days (from the date of your arrest) to Save Your Texas Driver’s License. We will represent you in your criminal case, but also in your civil suit called the Texas Administrative License Revocation Hearing (ALR Hearing).
Below is what you can expect in a Texas DWI case.
Cost of DWI
A police officer will pull you over and talk to you to determine if you have been drinking. If the officer thinks that is the case, you may have to take a sobriety test and/or breathalyzer test. If you fail either of these tests, you will probably be arrested on the spot and taken to jail.
Sometimes the arresting officer will not read you your rights immediately during the arrest process. The Miranda warning is only required if the police officer is going to question you. But remember: The police can and will use anything you say against you when you are in their custody.
Your vehicle will be searched, towed and impounded.
You might also be interested in DWI With Child Under 15 – A Felony in Texas.
Jail Time for DWI
Once you are at the jail, you will be processed, including all of your personal information recorded. Note that you are not required to speak beyond providing this information. You should remain silent and ask for a DWI attorney as soon as possible.
The jail will seize your personal items, and you will be fingerprinted. The police also will check if you have outstanding warrants.
Bail for DWI
Bail is the money the court sets for you to pay to be released. It ensures you will show up for court. First time DWI offenders normally have a bail of $500. If you cannot afford it, you can secure bail through a local bail bondsman. For those who cannot afford bail, you will need to stay in jail until the first court appearance.
Find DUI Attorney – Sugar Land TX
As soon as you bond out of jail, get a DWI attorney immediately. Not having strong legal representation after a Texas DWI arrest is the surest way to be found guilty and receive possible jail time, fines, insurance increases, and more. A DWI conviction also can prevent you being hired and can make it more difficult to receive student loans.
First time DWI penalties can include 72 hours to six months in jail, a fine of $2000 to $4000, and required DWI education and community service/probation.
Do not speak to anyone about your case other than your DWI attorney. Be completely honest and open about the case and everything that happened. Anything you say to your attorney is confidential according to attorney-client privilege.
Arrested for a DWI in Texas? Talk to a DWI Attorney Now
Call (281) 720-8551 for a consultation.
DWI is frowned upon in Texas. A conviction may have serious consequences on your ability to drive in Texas, obtain gainful employment, or stay out of jail. If you are arrested or charged with DWI, retain a criminal defense attorney that is experienced in DWI law.